Digital advertisement displayed on Website pages (desktop or mobile). Common sizes are denoted by their length and width, in pixels: 300×250 (medium rectangle), 728×90 (Leaderboard), 160×600 (Skyscraper), 300×600 (vertical half page)
The measurable response an ad receives in a fixed period of time. Total clicks measure the desired interest in a digital ad. The same person could be responsible for multiple clicks, so it does not equate to the audience size.
CPC (Cost Per Click)
The cost paid for one click on a Display or Search advertisement
Total Campaign gets 10,000 Clicks for a total cost of $2,000
CPC is $2,000 / 10,000 = $0.20 CPC
CPL (Cost Per Lead)
The total media cost divided by the total number of leads generated during a given time period. Kiosk helps our clients set a goal for CPL and then optimize media buy and creative units to achieve or exceed the goal.
Jan 1 – March 30:
Media costs = $20,000
Leads generated 200
CPL = $100
CPM (Cost Per Thousand)
The cost paid to reach 1,000 impressions. A common media yardstick.
In this example 1,000,000 impressions is 1,000 thousands. This is typically denoted as 1000 (000)
Total Campaign Cost = $10,000
Total Campaign Impressions = 1,000,000
Campaign CPM = $10,000 / 1,000 = $10.00 CPM
The cost per 1 rating point in a radio or TV schedule day-part (e.g. radio drive time M-F 6-10 am, 7-11pm “prime time” on TV). Rating points help assess the popularity of every broadcast program – TV and radio show, sporting events, news programming, etc.
CTR (Click Through Rate)
In digital media, the ratio of clicks to the total number of impressions served. The difference between all those who saw an ad and the important few who clicked to discover more.
Impressions served = 10,000
Clicks = 1000
CTR = 0.1
CVR (Conversion rate)
The ratio of visitors to a landing page that convert to a valuable lead (e.g. by signing up for more information)
Visitors = 1000
Conversions = 50
CTR = 0.5
The media term used for an online banner advertisement
DMP (Data Management Platform)
For online ad campaigns, this centralized platform helps create more targeted audience segments. A DMP provides a single dashboard to manage all aspects of the campaign – from campaign creation to optimization to realtime reporting.
DSP (Demand Side Platform)
A user interface that allows agencies and marketers to access and purchase digital ad inventory across multple ad exchanges
Centro, Media Math, Tube Mogul, DoubleClick Bid Manager, Turn, DataXu, The Trade Desk
The action some “rich media” banners take by increasing in size, once a user engages via a mouse-over or click
GRP’s (Gross Rating Points)
A measurement of audience size, often guaranteed by a broadcaster. GRPs reflect the total number of rating points garnered across a measured period of time by an advertiser’s scheduled media.
Broadcaster commits to delivering 6 GRPs across the duration of a booked ad campaign.
A measured ad exposure.
The number of times that your ad was served (digital media) or the number of times your ad was seen/heard (broadcast media)
IS (Impression Share)
The percent of impressions an ad recieved from the number available to purchase, typically TV or radio impressions.
A word or phrase used in an online search query that advertisers bid on, for the opportunity to place ads against search results for that query.
MIM (Media Investment Model)
A Kiosk spreadsheet-based tool, which helps determine the hierarchy of media channels, the spend and prioritization. To make the most of our client’s media investments, it’s all based on conversion rates between various user actions
Making incremental improvements to ad campaigns and promotional programs based on historical performance data which can touch on many strategies including bidding, targeting and budget reallocation (person, traffic, time). A goal of optimization may be to lower cost per acquisition, or identify more qualified traffic
Traffic that comes naturally to your website as a result of unpaid search results
Online marketing and advertising programs that are closely monitored and measured to see what specific action is completed. These customer actions include a sale, lead, click or call.
PPC (Pay Per Click)
The practice of purchasing advertising via Display or SEM on a paid action, or click
An algorithm used by Google Search to rank websites in their search engine results. Rankings reflect a website’s importance, based on factors such as number of other pages linking to that page. Google uses a variety of factors when assigning positions on search engine results pages, but PageRank is considered one of the most significant
Refers to the automated process of buying and selling media utilizing software that uses data to decide which ads to bid on and how much to pay for them. Ads are purchased through exchanges which aggregate available digital advertising space from a number of publisher sources.
Rubicon, AdRoll, Pubmatic, OPenX.
The score of a SEM keyword based on its relevance to the online audience. Did the keyword help the audience find exactly what they were searching for?
Rating (Rating Point)
Estimated percentage of the universe of TV households (or other specified group) tuned to a program at once. Ratings are expressed as a percent.
RFI (Request For Information)
A request for more information from a person (often referred to as “a lead”) viewing and interacting with a landing page. Also referred to as “a conversion”. For example, a landing page visitor entering their contact information in order to receive more information about a product or service.
RTB (Real Time Bidding)
a means by which advertising inventory is bought and sold on a per-impression basis, using programmatic technology
SEM (Search Engine Marketing)
Internet marketing to promote customer traffic to websites by increasing their visibility in SERPs (Search Engine Results Pages, as seen on sites like Google and Bing)
SEO (Search Engine Optimization)
The editing and sweetening of website content and site architecture to achieve a higher ranking in SERPs (Search Engine Results Pages)
SERP (Search Engine Results Pages)
Paid or “organic” website options presented as the result of a search, on sites like Google and Bing
SOV (Share of Voice)
The % of impressions your ads are delivering versus other advertisers on a particular website. It’s a reality check for clients to see if their ad messages are among the most visible to their desired audience.
SSP (Supply Side Platform)
Software, similar to a DSP (Demand Side Platform), on the Sell Side, which allows publishers to manage available inventory
Rubicon, DoubleClick, Pubmatic, AppNexus
The number of times an individual may visit or return to a webpage. Ad technology allows us to track the number of visits a person may make before taking an action such as filling out an RFI or phoning a Call Center.